Colorado Travels: Greeley Stampede

Carnival food is always so expensive and not always worth it. Therefore, Hayley and I decided to start out our night at Panda Express. Best friend talks are always the best especially with some Chinese food to go along with it. Mmm it doesn’t get much better than orange chicken.

We arrived to the Stampede around seven. Parking prices are through the roof but the entry fee was only $5. We started the night by walking around to see what we wanted to do. They brought in some new rides this year but they also did  away with many of them. We walked around the whole place to discover there was no monkey this year. Repeat: NO MONKEY! What the heck is up with that?

0629170838-e1498749855488.jpg

We went and bought ride tickets for a dollar a ticket. The Cliff Hanger was the first ride of the night. Flying high over the carnival is always a thrilling experience. It went higher up then I remember! Our stomachs are a bit weaker then they used to be when we were 15.

Of course, we had to take some fun Boomerangs! The Cliff Hanger and the Super Shot were fun Boomerangs to take.

Hayley always has to get a jumbo corn dog when we go. (I don’t like corn dogs) People probably looked at us like we were crazy when we took these pictures, but who cares as long as you are having fun.

0628172050a

We are always the oldest people on most rides. This year we got told we could only sit on certain animals on the Carousel. I mean horses are cool but I wanted to sit on the giraffe. Even worse than that, Hayley and I were separated on the ride. I could not understand the ride operator to save my life. Coffee?

Then we chowed down on some ribbon fries and said hello to some people we know. Why are ribbon fries only carnival food? We strolled through the shops and a man stopped us and shoved a hot pack in my hand. Hello its summer and I don’t need to be any warmer than I am.

Waiting to get on the Ferris Wheel until it is completely dark is always the best. The line moved much quicker than we anticipated. While we waited, we of course had to get our basic selfies. The first time you start moving is a wave of excitement and just a slight amount of fear. As soon as I could see the entire carnival, I was in awe like I am every time I make it to the top. The view from above is always the best. Even if that means being many feet off the ground.

We then made our way through a free fun house and I almost lost my pursue while going down the slide. Two tickets left and we had no clue what to do. So we hopped on a slime version of the teacups even though the ride operator looked as like we were mental.

Five dollars for a small, guaranteed stuffed animal is expensive but it is more about the memories. She got a doughnut and I picked a rainbow colored penguin.

0628172257

Just because there were downs, doesn’t mean I didn’t have a blast with my best friend. This has been our tradition for the past four years and nothing can stop us.

Comment below what your summer tradition is?

 

Leave a Reply

